top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAmy Peach

The Split Personality of Teacher/Parent

My chat with Amy De La Hunt this week brought up some fascinating emotions. While not all teachers respond in the same way to our children's education, we do become much more passionate (and critical) of it the closer they come to the age we actually teach. As a former teacher of high school seniors, I had little to say about the girls' schooling throughout their elementary years. As they approached middle school and high school? Well, that's more my area of expertise so it became harder to keep my mouth shut. Amy and I both struggle with this curse of expertise but we also greatly sympathize with educators who aren't just teaching our kids but everyone else's as well. Navigating these two roles takes up much of the conversation and you can hear the push and pull that I'd imagine many of us struggle with.


The book she helped create and edit through Parents as Teachers (Engaged: Building intentional partnerships with families) is a fascinating exploration of this very nuanced relationship. She explains how both sides are responsible for bringing value and how this partnership, when leveraged well, can be transformational for our kids.


Other resources mentioned:


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Is Trauma-Informed 'One More Thing'?

I'm a well known skeptic when it comes to widespread professional development, conferences, books, and speaking tours that come from research or groups primarily outside of the classroom. Even the 'b

The invisible threat of anxiety

The nice thing about most challenges with our students is they're easy to spot. We have communities and and an arsenal of technology giving us clues even when we're so hurried we have no idea which p

Lighten up, teach!

Ok, I'll admit it. I like to argue. Not because I particularly enjoy conflict. Rather, I love digging deep into something to really understand an issue rather than surface ideas about it that may o

bottom of page